History Prizes

Black and white image of women in a kitchen

The museum recognises works excellence in the area of maritime history

  • History Prizes

    History Prizes

    The Australian National Maritime Museum, with the Australian Association for Maritime History (AAMH), jointly sponsors two maritime history prizes every two years. Both prizes promote a broad view of maritime history that demonstrates how the sea and maritime influences have been central to shaping Australia, its people and its culture.

    The Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize

    The major prize is named in honour of the late Professor Frank Broeze (1945–2001) of the University of Western Australia, who has been called the pre-eminent maritime historian of his generation. Professor Broeze was a founding member of the Australian Association for Maritime History, inaugural editor of its scholarly journal The Great Circle, and introduced Australia’s first university course on maritime history. He was the author of many works on Australian maritime history, including the landmark Island Nation (1997), helping to redefine the field in broader terms than ships, sailors and sea power. He reached into economic, business, social and urban histories to make maritime history truly multidisciplinary.

    2015 Winner 

    We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2015 Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize ($4,000), awarded for a book written in 2013 or 2014 by an Australian author on any aspect of maritime history relating to or affecting Australia, is David Stevens for In All Respects Ready – Australia’s Navy In World War One (Oxford University Press, 2014).

    This comprehensive and authoritative account details the involvement of the Royal Australian Navy (RAN) in World War I. In 1914, when war broke out, the RAN was less than one year old,  but fully trained and ready, and the most professional and effective force Australia had to offer the British Empire. The book traces Australia’s role in the conflict and how the war helped to forge the country’s naval and national identity. One of the judges called it ‘A comprehensive account of RAN operations in WWI that should stand the test of time as a reference  … The book helps to rebalance the better known picture of our army’s contribution to WWI [and] provides analysis with which we can compare the state of the RAN at later times’.

    In All Respects Ready book cover

    See previous winners

    The Australian Community Maritime History Prize

    The 2017 Australian Community Maritime History Prize of $1000 will be awarded to a regional or local museum or historical society for a publication (book, booklet, educational resource kit, DVD or other media) relating to an aspect of maritime history of that region or community, and published between 1 January 2015 and 31 December 2016.

    See previous winners

    How to nominate

    The next prizes will be awarded in 2017. Nominations will be called for in the December 2016 issue of the museum’s journal Signals (you can become a member to receive a complimentary copy) and also be announced on this website. Nominations will close on 30 April 2017.

    Written nominations should be submitted to:

    Publications Officer
    Australian National Maritime Museum
    2 Murray Street Sydney NSW 2000
    Phone: 02 9298 3779

  • Past Recipients

    Past Recipients

    Review a list of the previous winners of history prizes offered by the Australian National Maritime Museum.

    The Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize


    Mariners are Warned by Marsden Hordern, (Melbourne University Press, 1989)


    Sand in our Souls: the Beach in Australian History, by Dr Leone Huntsman (Melbourne University Press, 2001)


    Encountering Terra Australis: the Australian Voyages of Nicolas Baudin and Matthew Flinders, by Jean Fornasiero, Peter Monteath and John West-Sooby (Wakefield Press, Kent Town SA, 2004)


    François Péron – An Impetuous Life: Naturalist and Voyager, by Dr Edward Duyker OAM (Miegunyah Press, 2006)


    Captain Cook: Voyager Between Worlds, John Gascoigne (Hambledon Continuum, London, 2007)


    Darwin’s Armada – How Four voyagers to Australasia Won the Battle for Evolution and Changed the World by Iain McCalman (Penguin Australia, 2009)


    Saltwater People, by John Ogden (Cyclops Press, Avalon, NSW, 2011)


    In All Respects Ready: Australia’s Navy in World War One by David Stevens (Oxford University Press, 2014)


    More information about the Frank Broeze Memorial Maritime History Book Prize

    The Australian Community Maritime History Prize


    The Lady Denman Heritage Complex, Huskisson, for Shipping and Shipwrecks – Stories from Jervis Bay and its Neighbouring Coasts by Peter Crabb (2010)


    Mornington Peninsula Art Gallery for Sea of Dreams: The lure of Port Phillip Bay 1830–1914 (2011)

    More information about the Australian Community Maritime History Prize


    No prize awarded 


You might also like